Home >About Us






        The RBVRR Telangana State Police Academy (erstwhile APPA) established in the year 1986, to serve as nodal agency and as an institution of higher learning of Police as well as other Law Enforcement Agencies including Forensic Scientists and Public Prosecutors.  Surrounded by lush green hillocks in Himayat sagar, Hyderabad, the Andhra Pradesh Police Academy, spread over sprawling  148 acres, is located about 25 kms. away from Hyderabad City along Hyderabad Vikarabad  Road. The foundation stone for the Academy was laid on 15.04.1986 by the former Chief Minister of Andhra Pradesh late Sri N.T.Rama Rao. The Academy  has been functioning in the present campus since 1993. The Raising Day of the Academy is being celebrated on 19th May every year as per G.O.Ms.No.92, Home (WNT) Dept., dt.10.05.2007.  The academy was rechristened as "RBVRR A.P.Police Academy" and later changed its name as "Raja Bahadur Venkata Rama Reddy Telangana State Police Academy" from February 2015 due to Reorganisation of State.


          The living legendary Police Officer Sri C. Anjaneya Reddy, IPS (Retd) was the spirit behind the inception of this great Academy.  Great Police leaders like  Sri A.V. Subba Rao,IPS(Retd),  Sri.H.J.Dora,IPS(Retd), Sri M.V.Krishna Rao, IPS(Retd), Late Sri Jaspal Singh, IPS, Sri A.K.Mohanty, IPS(Retd),  Sri.M.Ratan, IPS (Retd) , Dr.C.N.Gopin Natha Reddy IPS (Retd)  and Sri N.Sambasiva Rao, IPS, Dr.M.Malakondaiah, IPS have contributed immensely to this Academy.   Dr.Ish Kumar, IPS., Addl. DGP took over charge as  the Director of Telangana State Police Academy on 4th May, 2015.   Academy, imparted  Professional Police Training to more than 1,06,900 trainees till 31st December, 2015 including Police personnel of various ranks from Andhra Pradesh, Karnataka, Tamil Nadu, Kerala, Tripura, Bihar, Jharkhand and Union Territory of Lakshadweep etc.